Table of Contents Table of Contents
Previous Page  24 / 321 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 24 / 321 Next Page
Page Background

Nestlé in society – Creating Shared Value and meeting our commitments 2014


Nestlé in society: Creating Shared Value Nutrition Rural development Environmental sustainability Water Human rights and compliance Our people

External members

Susan M. Gasser

is the Director of the Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research. She holds a

professorship at the University of Basel, before which, she was Professor of Molecular Biology at the University

of Geneva. Recognised for her groundbreaking work in epigenetic inheritance and genome stability, she has

been elected to the Académie de France, the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences, EMBO, and has received

multiple awards including the FEBS-EMBO Women in Science Award. An advisor to the European Commission,

Susan Gasser also serves on scientific review panels for institutes across Europe.

Michael Gibney

is Professor of Food and Health at University College Dublin. He has previously held academic

posts in nutrition at the medical schools of Trinity College Dublin and The University of Southampton. He served

as the President of the Nutrition Society and has participated at high-level advisory committees to the EU and

the UN, as well as national agencies. His research is focused on the integration of public health nutrition and

molecular nutrition.

Josef Penninger

is founding director of the Institute of Molecular Biotechnology (IMBA) of the Austrian

Academy of Sciences in Vienna, and formerly a lead researcher at the Amgen Research Institute in Toronto. He

has been awarded the Descartes Prize, the Wittgenstein Prize of the Austrian Federal Government, the Ernst

Jung Prize for medical excellence, the Award as Elected Fellow of the American Association for the

Advancement of Science, the Innovator Award from Era of Hope/DOD and a second ERC Advanced Grant.

Susanne Suter

is the president of the Nestlé Foundation for the study of problems of nutrition in the world. She

is the former Head of the Department of Pediatrics, Medical Faculty, University of Geneva and Director of the

University Children’s Hospital, Geneva. She served as a member of the Research Council of the Swiss National

Science Foundation, and later as the President of the Swiss Science and Technology Council, as well as a

member of the senate of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. She is a member of the Senate of the Leibniz

Gemeinschaft in Germany.

Bruno Vellas

is currently Chairman of the Toulouse Gerontopole, Chief of the Department of Internal Medicine

and Geriatrics at the Toulouse University Hospital, and Chief of the Alzheimer Disease Clinical Research Centre,

University of Toulouse and member of INSERM (the National Institute of Medical Research) 1027 Unit on Aging.

He was nominated Officier de la Légion d’Honneur and is a corresponding member of the French National

Academy of Medicine.

Weiping Wang

is Honorary Director of the Pediatrics Research Institute at the Children’s Hospital of Fudan

University. He has also served as President of the Children’s Hospital and Executive Vice-President of the former

Shanghai Medical University (SMU). He is the Administrative Committeeman of the Committee of the Chinese

Medical Association, and serves as a consultant to the Committee of the National Association of Growth and

Development in children, in China.